How Jesus Avoided Failure

Impossible-Quote-Have you ever dreamed an impossible dream, got the vision, ran with it told it to any and all who might listen, and the utterly completely failed? At that low point discouragement comes in like a flood seeking to drown you. Dejected and discouraged you vow to never fail again, and for most of us that means not trying again. It must not have been “God’s will for my life.”

Beloved, somehow we’ve mistaken “God’s will,” for easy. The late A.W. Tozer once penned: “God is looking for a people through whom He can do the impossible. Isn’t it a pity we only plan to do for God the things we can accomplish ourselves.” Easy that’s the stuff you can do alone. Impossible – that’s the stuff you can only do with God! Do you want to discover the secret to never being derailed by discouragement?

isaiah424The Prophet Isaiah gave us insight into Jesus. Isaiah chapter forty-two. Specifically verse four is speaking of Jesus. “The Holy Spirit on Isaiah says, “He will not fail nor be discouraged, till He has established justice in the earth; and the coastlands shall wait for His law.” It says Jesus was a man (fully God fully man) who would not be discouraged. He was and is fully in the “perfect will” of God the Father. In the midst of waiting He isn’t wondering if the delay means He “missed God!” He knows He is pursuing the “Perfect Will of the Father.” The delay doesn’t discourage Jesus. 

If Jesus refuses to be discouraged by delays or apparent setbacks then I want to be as encouraged and confident as He is. I wanna be just like Him. I don’t care how difficult it is at times; I don’t care what I have to do. I won’t be discouraged or crushed, because that’s the way Jesus lived. Full of confidence and assurance in Him. How many of you know that if you easily get discouraged you won’t get very far in this life?  If you’re easily discouraged a couple of setbacks, delays, or “no’s” will likely derail you completely. If you ask for His help, God will bring you out of that yes by yes, step by step. The cry of our hearts must be, “Lord, make me steadfast, unshakable, and unmovable.” You pray that prayer and He will answer. 

Now look at verse thirteen of Isaiah 42: “The Lord shall go forth like a mighty man; He shall stir up His zeal like a man of war. He shall cry out, yes, shout aloud; He shall prevail against His enemies. (Isaiah 42:13). Here’s my point: even God stirs up His own zeal. King David, the worshipping warrior, he too had to stir up his soul. Paul told Pastor Timothy to stir up the gifts that were imparted to him. Give me the liberty to paraphrase Matthew chapter five and verse six. “Blessed is the person  who stirs himself up and arouses himself to spiritual hunger.” Why is he blessed? Because something great is going to happen; he’s going to be satisfied. That means two things: He’s going to get all of God that he wants; he is going to be satisfied with the portion  of God that he receives.

Let me ask you a question? Are you satisfied or unsatisfied with your portion? Beloved, I am desperately unsatisfied. I want all of God; I want to experience the fullness of what’s available to me now in this life. That’s what He promised. Jesus died on the cross so that Chris Ferguson could know the fullness of God while Chris is living in this age. I want the fullness of God. That’s what God said I could have and that’s what I want. I’m not satisfied yet. God said if I continue to arouse my hunger and pursue God, I will be satisfied.

Blessed are they which do hunger! Get hungry or you’ll starve!

Get Hungry or You’ll Starve by Chris Ferguson CLICK

Get Hungry or You’ll Starve by Chris Ferguson CLICK

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

