Brother Cook Recommends Dehydrated Squirrel Meat An Indiana Delicacy

Revised Oct. 1, 2008

Dried squirrels packed in #10 cans and #2.5 cans for sampling

If I remember right, I was 14 when my folks sent me on a Summer vacation from the Philippines to Massachusetts to stay with my grandparents or aunt/uncle.  I don’t remember which, but I remember the squirrel.

They lived in an older city and on a mature, oak tree-lined street.  Huge trees and populated with numerous squirrels.  I was bored-to-tears and so decided to try to make friends with the squirrel that lived in the tree in their front yard.  He (or she … how can you tell?) wouldn’t come near me.  So I put a nut out on the front walk while I sat on the front porch steps, watching.

The squirrel grabbed the nut, retreated a bit and devoured it.  I put the next nut a few feet closer and got the same result.  It took about three days to get the squirrel to come up next to me to get the nut.  But, at long last, I was able to get him to take it from my hand. 

Had I known how delicious squirrels are, I’d’ve grabbed him and thrown him in a pot right then!

 Well, now there’s no need to go to all that trouble to befriend and betray a squirrel, nor to have to trek into the woods with a shotgun to hunt them.  Just add some water to our (exclusive) dehydrated squirrel, let it sit overnight and, next day, sit down to a delicious, non-gamy rehydrated squirrel.

These little beauties are raised on a certified organic farm in Tennessee, are carefully eviscerated and skinned (choose from bone-in, the more expensive bone-out, or from the deluxe squirrel filet) and they’re certified rabies-free by the FDA.  (Since this is such a new product, FDA inspectors are onsite constantly and they inspect the meat much more closely than beef or pork.)  Each carcass is inspected twice by line workers to be sure it is hair-free.

A squirrel awaiting butchering and dehydrating

The squirrels are allowed to free range on a 3 acre, tree-filled lot, so they live a full, rich life before they are harvested.  This gives them the same muscle-tone that you find in a wild squirrel.  Because the farm can control what they eat, their taste is not nearly as gamy as wild squirrels.  If you’re a lover of squirrel meat, this is a product you’ve got to try!

 

 

PRICING INFORMATION:

 

 

 

 

 

Taste-tempting squirrel stew made with dehydrated squirrel meat

 

#10 Can (gallon)           #2.5 Can (quart)

Dehydrated Squirrel Meat, bone in                 25.95 (40 squirrels)        7.00  (10 squirrels)
Dehydrated Squirrel Meat, bone out               31.95 (40 squirrels)        8.50  (10 squirrels)
Squirrel Filets                                              42.95 (82 filets)            12.00  (20 filets)

I can’t believe you actually came to this page!  Do you honestly think we’d sell dehydrated squirrel??  What kind of sick freaks do you think we are??  Look at those cute little guys….

I’d have to be awfully hungry to eat one of them!  Oh, and keep in mind, the only way to dehydrate meat is to make jerky out of it.  You can’t just dehydrate it and can it.  It will go bad.

Nobody makes dehydrated squirrel meat.  We’re just havin’ fun….  Hope you enjoyed the joke!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Brother Cook Recommends Dehydrated Squirrel Meat An Indiana Delicacy

  1. Kari

    I think I just threw up on my mouth! What is wrong with you?!… 🙂

Leave a Reply

