Walkman Turns 30-It Ain’t No iPod

Walkman, at 30, a mystery to teen

Alejandro Martinez-Cabrera

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

walkmanWhat better way to commemorate the 30th anniversary of Sony’s iconic Walkman than to ask a teenager for some feedback on the device?
The BBC couldn’t think of one, and neither can I.

I like to imagine that the experience was similar to an archaeologist rediscovering how a recently excavated artifact was employed thousands of years ago. But I’m well aware that it must have been different for 13-year-old Scott Campbell, who co-edits his own news Web site. For one, teenage impatience must have stood in the place where I fantasize scientific curiosity should have been.

“My dad had told me it was the iPod of its day,” Campbell wrote. “He had told me it was big, but I hadn’t realized he meant that big. It was the size of a small book.”

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Walkman Turns 30-It Ain’t No iPod

  1. spasm

    I miss my walkman with auto reverse and Koss foldup headphones (which you can still buy new). I could listen to the same Mike Bickle teaching tape all day while I drove the tractor around and around the field.

Leave a Reply

