Guest Blogger Mike Wakeman

I have recently joined a prayer group and one of the members graciously gave me a book on prayer called 100 Days in the Secret Place. The book contains a collection of writings from different people throughout history.

I was reading one passage a couple of days ago and came across this letter written by a Roman Catholic Archbishop from the late 1600s.

Fenelon-God uses the disappointments…and failures of your life to take your trust away from yourself and help you put your trust in Him… Thus God prepares events to detach your from yourself and from others. God is your Father, do you think He would ever hurt you? He just cuts you off from those things you love in the wrong way. Your cry like a baby when God removes something or someone from your life, but you would cry a lot more if you saw the eternal harm your wrong attachments cause you[1].

This really impacted me and I realized that I had put so much faith in what I had. It was a huge security blanket for me. This is why I struggled so much in selling it all off. It is much better to part with anything that hinders my walk with the Lord now that to hang onto stuff that will cause me stumble. VISIT MIKE’S SITE 

Mike’s, a personal friend and brother in Christ who I have had the honor of watching him grow and fall more in Love with Jesus. He is preparing to move to Jericho to work with refugees. Keep him in your prayers and consider donating to him by clicking on the donate button on Mike’s blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

